SQL Quiz #4: Tagged by Chris Shaw

 

Chris Shaw asks a great question that I’m going to respond to.  Since this blog is all of two days old, I’m going to refrain from tagging anyone at this point.  Later tonight, be on the lookout for a technical post around partitioning and managing the partitioned indexes.

Who has been a great leader in your career and what made them a great leader.

I’ve personally had many great leaders in my career.  Oddly some of the guys that come to mind aren’t in the technical field at all. 

A few folks come to mind, one of them is a manager that I have had a couple of times in my career, Jeff.  As we speak, I’m currently doing an engagement for the company he works for and at the same time I’m ramping up my consulting company, working with several clients and trying to build out a practice.  The reason that I’d call him a great leader is that his advice, to date, has been invaluable.  It’s a type of advice that’s not always easy to recognize, however.  Many people that I’ve encountered in this life will “give” advice in verbal form.  One of the reasons that Jeff is listed is because his advice is rarely verbal but it’s in the way that he lives.  So, instead of the old “do as I say, not as I do” mantra, his is a quiet, understated and living example of leadership.

My father always used to tell me that if I chose to play sports, always play with people better than yourself, if you choose to go into business, work with people more successful than you.  Many of you have probably heard the same advice over the years and I truly believe that it rings true.  So, with that in mind, I’m going ask another question, now that you have been mentored or seen great leadership in practice, do you find that others look to you for that leadership now?  If so, how does that impact your conversataions with them and decisions regarding them? 

Heck, that’s a great question… I’m turning around and pining Chris Shaw again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

