On an Island with no Umbrella Drinks?

I was tagged by Chris Shaw to answer this question.

“So You’re On A Deserted Island With WiFi and you’re still on the clock at work. Okay, so not a very good situational exercise here, but let’s roll with it; we’ll call it a virtual deserted island. Perhaps what I should simply ask is if you had a month without any walk-up work, no projects due, no performance issues that require you to devote time from anything other than a wish list of items you’ve been wanting to get accomplished at work but keep getting pulled away from I ask this question: what would be the top items that would get your attention?”

heh… well, in the event that my golf clubs didn’t make it, I suppose that I would spend a great deal of time learning more about the guts or internals of SQL Server. It’s a subject area that I’m very interested in, yet I find that the time to truly dig in is often cut short by work.

I would also spend a fair bit of time coming up with ideas for articles, blog posts and presentations. These are all activities that I enjoy and it’s one way that I can say “thank-you” to those who have helped me along the way.

Given enough time and concentration, I would write a tool that could take any schema and the data in that schema and build a true load test. Over the years I have encountered many clients who face the challenge of truly perf testing their environment prior to going “live”. Often, those who have invested the time and money into this activity find that the performance they experienced in the lab is different than in production… The reasons vary but I believe that I’ve seen it enough to be able to hit this pretty closely.

Wow, *if* I could accomplish all of that in a month, I’d pack up my laptop, flipflops and hit the beach. 🙂

Since I’m new to blogging, I’m not going to tag anyone just yet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

