Move non clustered indexes to a new filegroup

So, over the years I have needed to move an index or a set of indexes to a new or different file group. I’ve written scripts for this in the past and lost them along the way and I couldn’t find anything out there on the bing or google interwebs.

The concept of multiple files and file groups for a database is beginning to sink in with a lot of developers and dba’s. The rationale for using them is typically sound and in my experience it’s one of wanting to decrease the internal file fragmentation of the data and the indexes. Often, one can find that there is a performance improvement as well because this allows you to move those indexes to that raid 1+0 array that your SAN admin has been waiting for you to use. 🙂

Here’s a stab at it that makes sense to me and it worked great for what I needed to accomplish today. What it doesn’t take into account are partitions and their related indexes, so be sure to read this code and test it prior to just taking my word for it working well.

I’m 100 percent open to ideas and suggestions, in the form of t-sql. I certainly appreciate comments and ideas, however, I will not write the t-sql for your idea. I’m giving this away and it’s my hope that as you improve upon it, you will kindly re-send or re-post it with the improvements.

Lastly, this handles non-clustered indexes only. It will ignore system indexes and statistics. Both of those are named out in the script so in the event that you want them; it’s an easy modification. I have comments in the code posted below and I STRONGLY advise you to read them before you run on a live system.

Click on the word doc attached to this post.  WordPress really makes the formatting of the code look ugly and I haven’t yet figured out how to make it look decent.

Enjoy!

 NonClusteredIndex_MOVE_newFG

    • Rama
    • September 3rd, 2010

    Jeremy,

    Thanks for sharing this script.

    I noticed that it has problems with Included columns and is treating them as key columns.

    Thanks,
    Rama

  1. July 27th, 2009
    Trackback from : SqlServerKudos

Leave a Reply

