What three events brought you here?

I was tagged by Chris Shaw for this…  It’s an open-ended question that I could have a lot of fun with.  For instance, I could simply say that what brought me here was a need for a larger house, the need for a dedicated home office and a killer deal.  That’s what brought me to where I’m currently sitting as I write this blog post…  I don’t suppose that’s the intent, so I’ll do my best to share a bit of my history.

1.)  I was in marketing.  I did a lot of work with pulling data from an AS400, “importing” it into Access so that I could then “import” it into Word and mail merge direct marketing campaigns.  A lot of fun.  After having all of that fun, there came the day that I was introduced to SQL Server.  Not knowing any better, I thought it to be a form of Access.  Thankfully it wasn’t and thus began my career as a ‘geek’.

2.)  I did some bouncing around in the early years at companies such as MCI (WorldCom), Norwest (WellsFargo), Lucent(Avaya).  Do you see the trend there?  Every company that I went to work for was purchased by another company.  I thought to myself, there has to be a better way to life than going through these mergers / acquisitions etc… so I went independent.  Since that time, I have had a couple of stints being an employee at startup’s but by and large, I’ve been independent and I love it.

3.)  Being independent has upsides and downsides.  For one, I don’t have the traditional “boss”, instead, I have many of them in the form of clients.  This is awesome in a lot of ways, yet significantly more demanding in others.  It has allowed me the freedom to look for the type of work that I want to do and not worry about being on a certain project team or growing stagnant in a particular organization fulfilling a particular role.

Going forward I hope to expand my little business as I believe that I’m able to deliver quality better than most of the big consulting shops out there for less money overall.

With that said, if you are in need of some SQL Server help, I’d love to hear from you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

